Pages

Saturday, 1 July 2017

SOUTH WALES EVENING POST CHILDRENS BOOK REVIEW JULY 1-2

This week my children book reviews include the long awaited return of Dragon Rider, a picture book about a naughty bug, books perfect for little explorers and a mystery to be solved by an intrepid lady's maid .

All in the Weekend section of The South Wales Evening Post. Enjoy!



BOOK OF THE WEEK



THE GRIFFIN'S FEATHER BY CORNELIA FUNKE
CHILDREN 8+
A roaring return to the best selling world of Dragon Rider. The last of the winged horses face extinction. Only a griffin's feather will save them. Ben and his dragon, Firedrake volunteer to make the perilous journey to find a feather but Griffin's are a dragon's fiercest enemy. Can they save them? In a vividly portrayed world, richly illustrated throughout, their quest will thrill all middle grade readers. For fans of C.S. Lewis and Harry Potter.
ISBN 9781911077886 PB Chicken House £6.99





BUG BEAR BY PATRICIA HEGARTY
PICTURE BOOK 3+
A small stripy bug wants a warm place to stay. Look out bear, he might ruin your day! Hilarious tale about an uninvited guest who takes a shine to bear's warm, thick fur. The little bug's constant buzzing is distrupting bears day, he can't sleep or relax. Can he find the annoying bug a new home? Funny, rhyming text with bold, expressive illustrations. Great fun for reading out loud.
ISBN 9781848694514 HB Little Tiger £10.99




COMPLETE NIGHT EXPLORER'S KIT BY ROBYN SWIFT
CHILDRENS 6+
Become a night time nature explorer with this fantastic backpack, containing a book; a torch, constellation guide and glow in the dark stickers. Identify nocturnal insects, animals, birds and stars. A great excuse for parents to detach themselves from their phones and get the kids out, connecting with nature. Also available in the series is, Go Wild in the Woods. In association with The National Trust, packed full of activities and facts, it's perfect for little adventurers.
ISBN 9781788000215 PB Nosy Crow £12.99




THE LAST DUCHESS BY LAURA POWELL
CHILDRENS 8+
When thirteen year old Pattern, a lady's maid, is sent to work for royalty, mystery and welsh dragons await. Is the Duchess imagining plots against her or is there something more sinister afoot? A vivid, action packed mystery brimming with nail biting twists. Full of friendship and loyalty with an intrepid heroine at it's heart. Laced with silhouetted illustrations by Sarah Gibb, this is perfect for fans of Robin Stevens and Katherine Woodfine.
ISBN 9781509808908 PB Macmillan £6.99