Pages

Friday, 23 June 2017

CHILDRENS BOOK REVIEW IN THE SOUTH WALES EVENING POST JUNE 24TH-25TH

This week my children book reviews include a Dickensian thriller based in Cardiff, a baby book about breast feeding, a magical fantasy and a romantic summer read perfect for the holidays.

All in the Weekend section of The South Wales Evening Post. Enjoy!



BOOK OF THE WEEK


GASLIGHT BY ELOISE WILLIAMS
CHILDREN 9+
Set in Victorian Cardiff, fourteen year old Nansi is found alone in the docks. Why has her mother disappeared? Working in a theatre, Nansi is forced to join a crooked psychic act. Does the theatre owner know what happened to her mother? A deliciously dark, historical thriller that is evocative and intriguing. Wonderfully atmospheric with a determined feisty heroine and a menacing villain who has a distinctive Dickensian flavour. A great gift and perfect for book group discussion.
ISBN 9781910080542 PB Firefly Press £6.99






WHAT DOES BABY WANT? BY TUPERA TUPERA
PICTURE BOOK 0-2 YRS
This entertaining little board book is a light hearted and extremely funny story about breast feeding. It portrays a scenario every parent will recognise. A hungry baby who will not be soothed by his toy bear, ball or tambourine. Only his mothers milk will do! Baby's face and different moods fill the circular pages including happy, sad, angry and content. Highly appealing and playful, this will certainly add a smile. A great little gift for baby showers!
ISBN 9780714874074 HB Phaidon £8.95





MOONLOCKET BY PETER BUNZL
CHILDRENS 9+
The adventure continues for Lily, Robert and Malkin, their mechanical fox. Unwittingly caught up in a search for missing treasure, the moonlocket, they find themselves in the path of danger. Will they outwit criminal mastermind Jack Door? This brilliant sequel to Cogheart is full of daring, danger and family secrets in a richly imagined world that will sweep you away. A fantasy series that is magical, mysterious and mesmerising.
ISBN 9781474915014 PB Usborne £6.99






A GIRLS GUIDE TO SUMMER BY SARAH MLYNOWSKI
YOUNG ADULT 12+
Sydney and her best friend Leela are escaping to Europe for a month. No boys or family drama. What could possibly go wrong? It doesn't start well when Leela's ex boyfriend turns up. Back packing through London, Italy and everywhere in between these friends have a blast and take the reader along for the ride. This is a fun, light hearted read perfect for the Summer holidays. Suitable for fans of E. Lockhart and Holly Smale.

ISBN 9781408343869 PB Orchard Books £7.99